April 8, 2019. Concert Notes.

American Sounds

Monday, April 8, 2019
Brunswick High School Auditorium
Michelle Merrill, Music Director and Conductor


How to Relax with Origami                                                  Conor Brown
Violin Concerto                                                                     Samuel Barber
Presto in moto perpetuo

Guest Artist: Sarah Crocker Vonsattel


Fanfare for the Common Man                                               Aaron Copland
Appalachian Spring Suite                                                      Aaron Copland
Three Dance Episodes from On the Town:
        Times Square 1944                                                         Leonard Bernstein


Experience American Sounds …
… in a complete program of music by American composers. Conor Brown’s music is motivated by the sweeping prairies, big sky, and jagged mountains of the American West. In How to Relax with Origami, Brown gives us eight inviting musical vignettes wittily counter-pointed and imaginatively written for enjoyment. Be prepared to be surprised – and to smile.

Samuel Barber’s Violin Concerto has a more sophisticated mood. Our soloist will be Sarah Crocker Vonsattel, a member of the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra. The Concerto opens with an exquisite, haunting melody on a solo violin, later moving on to an achingly beautiful extended oboe melody. Following the quiet intensity of the first two movements, Barber gives us a continuous stream of rapid fire notes in the third that tests the virtuosic character of the violin.

Aaron Copland’s uplifting Fanfare for the Common Man opens the second half of the concert, and it is followed by his iconic Appalachian Spring Suite. Rearranged from the 1944 ballet score, the Suite has enjoyed enduring popularity as an orchestral piece with its distinctive moods and mountain sounds.

To close the evening, and our 2018-2019 Season, the orchestra will treat us to bits of American blues, jazz, and familiar tunes with Leonard Bernstein’s Three Dance Episodes from On the Town: Times Square 1944. Toe-tapping is allowed!

This concert will leave us wanting more!